The Mid-Year Freakout Book Tag

I know that everyone and their dog is saying this but…

Oh. My. God. How is it already June?! I feel like I haven’t read anything (and my Goodreads challenge would agree).

I wasn’t tagged in this but the wonderful Destiny tagged anyone who wants to participate which I greatly appreciate.

The best book you’ve read so far in 2017:

The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafrón

This book just scooped me up and brought me along for the story. Everything about this book was wonderful. The setting, the characters, the plot, the writing… I honestly think I am in love with this book.

Your favorite sequel this year:

Sea of Monsters and Titan’s Curse by Rick Riordan

I started to reread the Percy Jackson book this year (I’m still working on it I promise) and honestly reading these books got me through the semester. They just gave me so much happiness, I couldn’t stop smiling when I read them.  

A new release that you haven’t read but really want to:

A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J Maas

I’m staring at this book as I write this and I honestly don’t know why I haven’t read it yet…

Most anticipated release for the second half of the year:

I’m honestly so far behind on all of the #trends and am drowning in my owned tbr so I don’t have anything for this. But I am always ready for the third Kingkiller book by Patrick Rothfuss and the latest Song of Ice and Fire book… Even though I’m not caught up in either of these series (yikes).

Your biggest disappointment:

On The Other Side by Carrie Hope Fletcher

I think I just overhyped this book in my head because I love Carrie and her videos so much. I enjoyed reading this book but it left me wanting more and I had some issues with the style of the book.

Honorable mention:

The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt

Biggest surprise of the year:

The Sun Also Rises by Ernest Hemingway

I kind of expected to strongly dislike this book (for the obvious reasons) but then I read it and I actually really enjoyed the writing style and the plot

Spoiler: It is still is very problematic

Favorite new-to-you or debut author:

Carlos. Ruiz. Zafrón.

Your new fictional crush:

Kaden from The Remnant Chronicles by May E. Pearson

I have eternal heart eyes for Kaden

P.s. I have only read the first two books so don’t judge me if he turns out to be the literal worst in the last book

New favorite character:

Can I choose a character from Game of Thrones even though I have already seen the tv show? I’ve decided that I make the rules and I say yes.

So I choose Jon Snow and Arya and Tyrion and Daenerys.

A book that made you cry:

Shadow of the Wiiiind

I’m still emotional and it’s been sixish months.

A book that made you happy:

Percy Jackson

Just so many warm and fuzzies

Honorable mention:

A Series of Unfortunate Events (I realize that might sound weird but it’s just so nostalgic)

Your favorite book to movie adaptation that you’ve seen this year:

I honestly don’t really think I’ve seen any book to movie adaptations this year… Buuuut I did see the Series of Unfortunate Events Netflix show!! Does that count? It should count.

But I really enjoyed the show! The stylizing (aesthetic) reminded me of a Wes Anderson movie which is a great thing. It honestly just so nice.

Favorite book post you’ve published this year:

Well, I’ve only posted one but I think it’s pretty great. You might too! Maybe you should give it a read…

The most beautiful book you have bought/received this year:

The Good People by Hannah Kent

In real life, the cover is pure white with black lettering and gold metallic overlay leaf detailing.

What are some books that you need to read by the end of the year?

All of them??

Honestly, I’m so behind on my tbr it’s hard to narrow it down.

I want to finish the Percy Jackson Series and then move on the to the Lost Hero Series. I also need to read ACOMAF

Leave a Reply

